Exercise: The decisive moment

I have taken an executive decision to not spend too long – at this stage anyway – on this exercise.  I’ve practised capturing ‘the decisive moment’ many times over the years, with varying degrees of success, and I don’t want to get stuck on trying to perfect anything in the next few weeks. My next visit to Havana in January will give ample opportunity to play out the exercise repeatedly.

The more I read the more clear it becomes that Cartier-Bresson was an extraordinary photographer and I intend to study his work and ideas in a lot more depth over the coming months.

These are my Decisive Moment images from my recent trip to Paris and Arles. The camera lag did indeed drive me nuts but it is a great way to practice spotting a good composition to provide a backdrop for the perfect gesture.  Some of these miss the mark but as someone wise once said: “I never lose. I either win or I learn.”

Contact_sheet1_Arles

Contact_sheet2_Arles

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Exercises - part 1 and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

